News Flash


Posted on: February 20, 2019

Teton Board of County Commissioners Approves New Rules & Regulations

ISWR web new flash

The Teton Board of County Commissioners approved new rules and regulations regarding Solid and Hazardous Waste yesterday. The new rules and regulations will go into effect on Friday, March 1, 2019.

County rules and regulations can be viewed here. The new Solid and Hazardous Waste rules and regulations are listed as Title 10 – Solid and Hazardous Waste.

Included in the new rules and regulations are restrictions related to items that may not be disposed of at the Trash Transfer Facility on South Highway 89. Specifically, the following items cannot be disposed of at the Trash Transfer Facility:

  • Bear spray (full or empty)
  • Compressed gas cylinders
  • Camping propane canisters
  • Lithium batteries
  • Household Hazardous Waste
  • Electronic Waste
  • Fluorescent light bulbs

These items, except compressed gas cylinders, may be disposed of at the Teton County Recycling Center. For additional information related to restricted items, please refer to the new rules, or call Integrated Solid Waste and Recycling (ISWR) at 307-733-7678.  The items on the list, when disposed of improperly, threaten the health and safety of solid waste personnel and the environment.

“The adoption of new rules and regulations for Solid and Hazardous waste ensures that Teton County policies are in agreement with Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality standards, as well as protect solid waste management personnel and the public,” said Heather Overholser, ISWR Superintendent. “In addition to maintaining compliance with state law, we want to make sure that local residents understand any changes that may affect their waste reduction and disposal activities.”


View as PDF


Contact: Carrie Bell, ISWR


Phone:   307-733-7678

Facebook Twitter Email