Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
The JHTTB meets on the second Thursday of every month at the Town Council Chambers at 150 East Pearl Street, Jackson, WY. Meetings begin promptly at 3:00 p.m.
The event sponsorship application process occurs one time per year. Typically the applications are available in early December and due February 1st. Sponsorship awards happen at the May and October JHTTB board meetings. Please see "How to seek funding"
Wyoming statute requires that all property be listed, valued and assessed as of January 1 of each year. Assessment schedules must reflect the owner of record as of that date and be mailed on or before the fourth Monday in April.
All properties in Teton County are physically inspected once every six years. Properties are also inspected when a building permit is issued or an address assigned. Inspections can also be done as deemed necessary in the event of a disagreement with the property value as established by the Assessor’s Office or upon the request of a property owner.
If you do not agree with the value, you can contact our office during the 30-day protest period and speak to the Assessor or an appraiser about your value. It is important to remember that if you choose to appeal the Assessor`s value, you should provide pertinent information supporting your estimated value. A recent appraisal (less than 12 months old) of your own property may be good evidence of its value.
Many factors affect market value - a change in property characteristics, market supply and demand, interest rates, labor and material costs to name a few.
Industry-accepted mass appraisal procedures and methodologies are used to determine property values. Factors such as location, property characteristics and sales information are analyzed each year to determine the estimated fair market value.
Wyoming statute (34-1-142) requires a statement of consideration be completed whenever a deed, contract or other document transferring legal title is recorded. Information such as the date of sale, purchase price and the sale’s terms are required. This information is not generally available to the public.
Property owners appealing their assessment may review the sales that were used to determine the fair market value of their property. The review period is limited to the thirty-day appeal period following receipt of your estimated assessment in late April or early May. Property owners may not further disclose this sales information to anyone else. The information may be introduced later in the event of a formal appeal of a tax assessment, but any further disclosure is prohibited by state law. Due to the confidentiality of the sales information it cannot be mailed, electronically transmitted or given over the telephone.
Property taxes do not automatically increase simply because the fair market value of the property has increased. Market value is only a portion of the formula used in calculating tax amounts. The formula for determining actual tax dollars is as follows:
Wyoming statute also states an individual statement of consideration shall not, by itself, be used to adjust the assessed value of any individual property. To ensure that sold properties are being valued using the same procedures as unsold, all valid open market sales within a neighborhood are used. Neighborhood boundaries are developed on location, economic forces, governmental and social factors. Within neighborhoods other considerations may be age, type of construction, etc.
No, only sales that are considered valid open market sales are used. Sales involving foreclosures, relatives, gifts, etc. are generally not used.
The level of assessment is the percentage of the market value that determines the assessed value of a property. In Wyoming, the level of assessment for minerals is 100 percent; the level of assessment for industrial use properties is 11.5 percent; and for all other properties the level of assessment is 9.5 percent. These percentages are determined by the state legislature.
A mill levy equates to the number of dollars in taxes that a property owner must pay for every $1000 of assessed value. The Teton County Commission establishes the total mill levy for each tax district based on budget requests from the various taxing entities - municipalities, school districts, water or sewer districts, fire districts or other specially formed districts as designated by state statute - within the districts’ boundaries.
In order to determine the mill levy for each tax district, taxing entities must submit their final budget requests. The budget, less any anticipated revenues from non-property tax sources, is divided by the assessed value to obtain the tax rate, or mill levy. Assessed values determined by the County Assessor and values of state assessments - those industries that are valued by the Wyoming Department of Revenue, such as utilities and minerals - are combined to determine the total assessed value within the taxing entities’ boundaries. An individual assessed value is multiplied by the total mill levy for the tax district to obtain an individual tax amount.
In Wyoming, land meeting the criteria for agricultural land classification is valued based on the land’s productive capabilities under normal conditions. Landowners must complete a sworn affidavit (PDF) stating the land met the legal requirements for such classification.
Real property is defined as land and all things attached to the land.
Personal property is all property that does not meet the definition of real property. Examples of personal property include furniture and fixtures - desks, chairs, tables, couches, file cabinets, display counters, shelves, etc.; computer equipment and software; telephones, fax machines, copiers; heavy machinery; oilfield equipment, etc.
The deadline for reporting changes to personal property listings is March 1 of each assessment year. Personal property forms, noting the information provided the previous year, are mailed to businesses in the Teton County in early December of each year. Business owners are asked to make any additions or deletions and return the form to the County Assessor. If there have been no changes, owners need only so indicate, sign and return the form. The reporting deadline may by extended to April 1 upon written request, provided that request is made no later than February 15.
You pay 5% sales tax on the net purchase price, after trade.
The treasurer accepts the following forms of payments:
Conflict areas were identified as those areas that overlap with, lay adjacent to, or are in close proximity to known bear-use areas, as documented by empirical research or wildlife management actions and observations. The County obtained this data from the Wyoming Game and Fish Department.
Certified bear resistant containers or dumpsters meet the "minimum structural design standards" published by the Interagency Grizzly Bear Committee (IGBC) in 1989 or has successfully passed the testing program and protocols recited in the Bear Resistant Products Testing Program (October 2005).
Local sanitation companies and property management companies have started replacing current trash containers with certified containers. Please contact your sanitation company or property management company to find out if they intend to replace your trash container. When purchasing your own container, visit the Interagency Grizzly Bear Committee website and review the list of Certified Bear-Resistant Products.
The regulations define a bear resistant enclosure/building as an enclosed building that consists of functional, maintaining self-latching doors/gates, or doors and gates with locks and contain one or all of the following:
No, this regulation does not apply to recycling bins at this time.
If you are not serviced by a local provider and take your garbage directly to the Transfer Station, trash may be stored in other containers as long it is stored in a bear resistant building at all times while on your property.
Bear resistant containers must be used all year. The regulations do not specify certain months, as it would be hard to not only to regulate, but also for the trash companies to switch out and store containers for a few months at a time.
Owners may be attracting bears to residential neighborhoods, which may pose threats to human safety and pets. Teton County could seek abatement of these violations with possible fines up to $750 per day, per offense. However, the last thing anyone wants to see is a conflict resulting in someone getting hurt, property damage or a bear being removed from an area.
Should you have any problems with the lids latching, please do not ignore it, but contact your collection agency immediately. They have been repairing or replacing containers.
Wind Speed - 115 mph, Seismic Design - D1/D2, Weathering - severe, frost line depth - 34", termite - slight, winter design temp - -30, ice shield underlayment required - yes, air freezing index - yes, mean annual temp - 38. For floodplain, wildland urban interface and ground snow load you can search the specific address on the GIS map and use the layers to get exact information.
The applicable building code is the one that was in existence when the building permit was issued.
A building permit is required for a wood deck if the deck is 30 inches of more above the finished grade at any point along the deck.
If the deck is less than 30 inches above the finished grade for the entire perimeter of the deck a building permit is not required. You should check with planning regarding the location of the deck to insure it is built in an approved location.
Storage sheds that are not attached to any other structure, with no power or water and less than 200 square feet in area do not require a building permit. You should check with planning regarding the location of the shed to insure it is built in an approved location.
It is the duty of the permit holder or their agent to notify the Building Department that work is ready to be inspected. For Teton County, call 307-732-5745 or go online to schedule an inspection. Inspections must occur at least every 180 days in order to keep the permit active.
If the inspection is called by 4 p.m. the inspector will be scheduled to inspect the next business day, you will have the option to choose an am or pm inspection unless you are in Alta. Alta inspection times are Tuesday pm, Wednesday am, Thursday pm, or Friday am.
Yes. Request an inspection online.
If this is new construction it is not necessary to be present at the inspection but it is advisable. If the inspector has any questions or concerns it is better to be present to discuss them. This can often eliminate the need for a re-inspection and re-inspection fee. If the construction job is a remodel or addition to an existing structure it is required that another person be present during the inspection.
Building permits are not required for flat work provided it is not a structural element of a structure. The creation of any additional impervious surfaces should be reviewed by the Planning Department to insure compliance with the Land Development Regulations (LDRs).
Yes. A Certificate of Occupancy can be issued once a surety bond has been paid. You can contact the Engineering Department to get the exact total required for the grading bond or the Planning Department for the exact total required for the landscaping bond. The bond is based off of the value of the site work remaining to be completed and the surety is equal to 125% of the estimate. All surety monies should be written out to Teton County and brought to the Planning Department. If you have more specific questions on sureties please call the Planning at (307) 733-3959 or Engineering at (307) 733-3317
The Court Clerk's office will mail you a Jury Summons, Jury Questionnaire, and Jury Information Sheet. Please fill out the questionnaire and return it to the Court Clerk's office. There will be a return envelope provided.
The Wyoming Supreme Court creates a juror pool list from voter registration provided by the Wyoming Secretary of State’s office and driver’s license registration information provided by the Wyoming Department of Transportation. Annually, the WY Supreme Court provides a randomized list of names from those lists to each court in each county and municipality.
A name is only included on one jury list for each court in any given year, except for federal courts.
Federal courts manage their jury pool independent of state and local courts.
While we strive to notify you 10 days in advance of a trial date, you may receive more or less notice depending on the specific trial circumstances.
Our understanding is that the Wyoming Supreme Court aims to eliminate jurors serving in the current year term from the following year's term, resuming their eligibility in the second year following the term they served. For a variety of reasons, this may not be the case and a juror may appear again in the following year's jury pool. Please contact us with any questions.
Please note when someone has served on a jury during the year's term, they may choose to be excused from serving on any other jury during the remaining portion of the term.
You are required to submit a notarized affidavit stating your detailed reasons for excusal to the judge. An Affidavit for Excusal from Jury Duty form can be found on our website under "Jury Service". We must receive the signed original. See also question #6 regarding medical conditions. The judge communicates the decision via an order excusing you or an order denying the request.
If you have a medical condition which precludes you from serving as a juror, we request you ask your doctor for a short statement indicating your inability to serve. We do not need to know the type of condition or any medical information, only that you are unable to fulfill the requirements of jury service. The doctor's note should be attached to your affidavit requesting excusal (see previous question).
You can request to be excused until the time you return for summer or winter break. Please see prior question on requesting excusal.
Call the Clerk of District Court office at 307-733-2533 or email email@example.com.
On average there are 4 to 6 trials in a year that typically last from 3 to 5 days each, however there are exceptions. There can be more or less trials in any given year. In addition, trials can be scheduled for multiple weeks.
A passport card cannot be used for International Air Travel. Even in the event of an emergency the card would not be sufficient to fly. View more information.
Even in the event of an emergency, it is our understanding that a passport book is required to travel by air.
Teton County has one Code Compliance Officer who investigates alleged violations, performs site inspections, and strives to achieve prevention and abatement of violations.
No. Many of the violation investigations take place after a concerned citizen or neighbor makes a complaint. When a property has a new development permit or building permit, inspections are made at that time to ensure the project complies with the approved permit. With Teton County issuing over 20 types of permits and covering over 4,000 square miles, unfortunately there are not enough resources to inspect every property on a regular basis.
Once staff receives a complaint, a Notice of Complaint may be issued to the property owner in question. This gives the property owner a chance to respond to the alleged violation. Staff may make inspect the site if warranted to confirm a violation. Staff may contact other neighbors or agencies to confirm violations or put together a history of a property, research planning records and assessor records, conduct online searches for violations, etc. Staff strives to work with property owners to correct violations. Nine times out of ten, owners cooperate and bring their property into compliance. For that one out of ten owners who do not cooperate, staff is forced to present the case to the County Attorney and the Board of County Commissioners. This may result in abatement hearings, court proceedings and substantial fines.
Complainants’ names are withheld from the public during an investigation; however, if a property owner or his/her agent makes a written request or Teton County is ordered to release all information through a court order, the complainant’s name will be given.
No, you don`t have to restart the series. The recommended schedule is for the optimal protection, though, and it is important to stay on schedule.
In general, if your child is 0 through 18 years of age, and is either on Medicaid, has no health insurance, or has insurance that does not cover 100% immunizations then your child will qualify. First and second doses of MMR vaccine are available for students entering college. Teton County Public Health Nursing can only provide vaccines to VFC eligible children, so if your child is fully covered by insurance for vaccines, we recommend you see your family physician.
Your private physician or Teton County Public Health can provide low cost confidential male and female services including:
Their phone number is 307-732-6401.
There is an EPA Authorized Specialist available by calling 307-733-1883 or 1-800-537-6029.
Teton County Public Health does not provide travel immunizations or provide information about which vaccines are needed for particular countries. Our Adult Immunization Clinics can provide you with Hepatitis A or Hepatitis B shots. It is recommended that you start your series several months prior to your anticipated travel time.
Other physicians who provide travel immunizations include:
Foodborne disease is caused by consuming contaminated foods or beverages. Many different disease-causing microbes, or pathogens, can contaminate foods, so there are many different foodborne infections. In addition, poisonous chemicals, or other harmful substances can cause foodborne diseases if they are present in food.
Becoming part of the “system” starts with participation in our Systems of Care meetings. We meet the third Thursday of every month. Please call Charlotte Reynolds at 307-732-5786 for the time and place.
You can report an illness or get further assistance by calling 307-733-6401.
During a Primary or General Election, you may vote at any one of the following Vote Centers from 7 a.m to 7 p.m. regardless of where you live in Teton County:
To insure that all registered voters have the opportunity to cast their ballot, Wyoming allows voters to vote by absentee - for any reason. A qualified elector may apply for an absentee ballot either in person, in writing, by e-mail, or by telephone at anytime during the calendar year in which the election is held, but not on the day of the election.
Additionally, Teton County has an absentee polling place that is located in the basement of the Teton County Administration Building at 200 S Willow St, Jackson, WY 83001. All qualified electors wishing to vote in person by absentee may vote at the absentee polling site for both the Primary and General elections.
The absentee polling site is open Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. during Primary, General, and Special elections. Please keep in mind that the absentee polling site is not open on Election Day. You must vote at a designated vote center on Election Day.
If you are unable to vote in person at the absentee polling site, you can request that an absentee ballot be mailed to you. Beginning in January of each election cycle, you may request an absentee ballot by calling us at 307-733-4430, or complete the request for Wyoming absentee ballot form (PDF) and email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Calling or emailing us is the best way to ensure there is enough time to mail your ballot.
You can also mail or drop of the form in person to the Administration Building or by mailing it too:
USPS:Teton County ClerkP.O. Box 1727Jackson, WY, 83001
UPS or FEDEX:Teton County Clerk200 S Willow StJackson, WY 83001
If you would like someone to pick up an absentee ballot for you, please make sure that you complete the section on the absentee ballot request form which designates who will pick up your ballot.
All absentee ballots must be received in the Clerk`s Office by 7 p.m. on the day of the Election to be counted.
To obtain a marriage license in Wyoming, couples must appear in person at 200 S Willow St, Jackson, WY 83001, be 18 years of age or older, and present a picture ID - Driver's License, Passport, Military ID, School ID. If you are 16 or 17, a signed written consent of the father, mother, guardian or person having the care and control of the minor. The written consent shall be proved by the testimony of at least 1 competent witness. If you are 15 or younger, a Judge’s court order is required.
Both individuals should complete a marriage license form (PDF) and bring it, along with their photo ID, to the County Clerk's Office to obtain a Marriage License. You will be asked to give your:
The License fee is $30 payable by cash, check, debit or credit card ($1.50 service fee will apply if using a card). Visa, MasterCard and Discover cards are accepted.
There is no waiting period in Wyoming. Blood tests are not required in Wyoming. A Wyoming marriage license can only be used in the State of Wyoming. The application expires one year from the date of issuance.
Marriage ceremonies are not performed in our office, or at the courthouse. You must make your own arrangements to have an Officiant perform your ceremony. View a list of local officiants (PDF). If you are bringing someone with you to perform your ceremony, that's okay! We do not require documentation regarding their credentials, however, they must qualify by statute:
Who may solemnize marriage; form of ceremony per Wyoming State Statute 20-1-106:
The Certified copy fee is $5. Certified copies of a marriage license are normally needed when changing a name, adding someone to your insurance, etc. Complete and return the certified copy request form (PDF) to us.
If you requested a certified copy of your marriage license when applying for the license, it will be mailed to you once the license is returned to us after the ceremony, and has been recorded.
Teton County Integrated Solid Waste and Recycling (ISWR) sends their materials to ECS out of Santa Clara, CA. They are "E-Stewards" and "R2" certified which are the highest certifications available for responsible electronic recycling. However, if there are concerns we suggest finding a means to destroy the data on the hard drive. ISWR does not do any processing with the electronics.
Electronics are banned from the Teton County Trash Transfer Station. Electronics may be dropped at the Recycling Center or at other "R2" and "E-Steward" certified organizations to ensure responsible disposal of electronics.
Proper disposal and recycling of computers and electronics is top priority for Teton County Integrated Solid Waste and Recycling (ISWR) - specifically - making sure that electronic waste is not shipped to third world countries for dismantling and recycling. JCR sends e-waste to ECS Refining in Santa Clara, CA.
ECS operates an electronics recovery and recycling program driven by funding from electronics manufacturers. Established in Wyoming in 2011, ECS operates programs in Montana, Idaho and North and South Dakota - states in which there is no legislated responsibility or requirement to take back these materials.
An adopted series of the International Code Council’s set of codes, the Wildland Urban Interface code addresses any area where human-made improvements are built close to, or within, natural terrain and flammable vegetation, and where a significant potential for wildland fire exists. Teton County adopted this code in 2006.
Go to the Teton County Geographical Information System and under Property Search type in your address, click on the Fire Zones layer on the right bar. If your property is in the red area, you are in the WUI zone. The letters in the blocks do not pertain to the code, but indicate the referenced information for evacuation plans within the County Wildfire Protection Plan (under revision as of August 2013).
Contact the Fire Department for a WUI review, 307-733-4732. This review will become part of the construction documents required for permitting. A fire inspector will be happy to discuss the requirements with you or your general contractor.
Only your addition over 500 square feet is required to meet the WUI code (per 2012 code adoption). Contact the Fire Department for a Wildland Urban Interface review at 307-733-4732. This review will become part of the construction documents required for permitting. A fire inspector will be happy to discuss the requirements with you or your general contractor.
Radiant and direct heat from wild land fires expand the gas within the above-ground tanks. This expansion causes tanks to vent off live gas, adding fuel and heat to the fire. A buried tank will not heat up in a wild land fire. All utilities must be underground per county ordinances.
The city allows burning for two weeks every spring. Please contact dispatch before burning.
The department’s Fire Prevention Division is responsible for enforcement of fire related regulations. Both Teton County and the Town of Jackson are local enforcement jurisdictions, which means the fire department is the authority having jurisdiction for fire and electrical safety related matters.
The Town and County have adopted the 2006 Edition of the International Fire Code. Also, the department enforces the 2006 Edition of the Fire Protection Resolution for New Subdivisions, and 2006 International Urban-Wildland Interface Code. The Fire Department’s Electrical Safety Division enforces the 2011 Edition of the National Electrical Code.
Yes, they are the same.
Fire inspections and Electrical inspections are provided as a service by the department and you are not charged.
Please contact the Fire Prevention Division at 733-4732.
Yes. The department provides smoke detectors in several ways. The Department operates a Safe Newborn program in which every child born at St. John`s Hospital receives a voucher for a smoke/carbon monoxide detector for their home. Also, the department provides detectors to the elderly, low income families.
Sure, lots! The department will provide you with information in the areas of fire prevention, fire survival, hazardous materials, wild land urban interface, burn prevention, occupational safety, disaster preparedness, to name just a few. If we don`t have specific information about your inquiry, we`ll find it for you, contact the Fire Department if you would like more information.
In town, contact the Town of Jackson Public Works at 733-3079. Fire hydrants is private subdivisions in the County are maintained by the subdivision. You must contact the homeowner's association for that subdivision.
The battery is low. The detector will chirp regularly every 30 to 60 seconds to let you know its time to replace the battery.
To report your Open Burn, please contact Jackson Hole Fire/EMS at 733-4732. Open burns are allowed in the Town of Jackson only when the Mayor proclaims Burn Week, usually once in the spring and once in the fall. Open burns in the County are generally allowed throughout the year, unless fire restrictions are placed into effect. Be prepared to give the physical address of your burn, your name and a telephone at which you can be reached during your burn.
Open Burn Policies are as follows:
The Fire Code strictly regulates those things which can be burned. Generally, only clean, uncontaminated wood products can be burned. Grass clipping, brush, branches, logs, and scrape lumber basically are those things that qualify. Trash may not be burned.
Any brand extinguisher is okay as long as it is tested and listed by Underwriter's Laboratories. The minimum size we require is a 2A10B:C. Extinguishers used in commercial applications must be sized to protect specific hazards. Contact the Fire Prevention Division at 733-4732 for more information.
Call the Fire Prevention Bureau so that we can take a look at it for you. The fire may have caused damage or created a dangerous situation of which you are unaware. The fire may have damaged property for which your home owner insurance or renter insurance may reimburse you. Contact your insurance company right away for guidance.
Yes. Amendments to the Town and County Building Codes require that all structures 5,000 square feet or larger be protected by automatic fire sprinklers, regardless of occupancy. There are some exceptions. Furthermore, the department requires that all structures accessed by roads exceeding 8% sustained grade be protected by sprinklers. As a result, some entire subdivisions require sprinklers.
Current codes require that all rooms used for sleeping purposes be protected by smoke detectors. New construction requires that the detectors be hard wired to the building`s electrical system, with battery back-up. Hallways which lead to sleeping rooms also require detectors. While not required by current codes, we also recommend that you install carbon monoxide detectors in your home if you have a device which burns fossil fuels. Gas heaters, furnaces, oil fired boilers, fireplaces and wood stoves are examples.
Follow the directions! Any new wood stove installed in the Town or County must be tested and listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory. One of the requirements of the listing is that the manufacturer must give you detailed instructions on how to properly install your stove. The stove must also meet or exceed 1990 EPA Emission Standards. If you have questions or would like a courtesy inspection, contact the Fire Prevention Division at 733-4732.
At a minimum, we recommend once a year. Before and after the burning season is even better. All stoves burn differently so more often may be necessary. We recommend you hire a professional sweep who can provide you with a knowledgeable opinion of the condition of your chimney system.
Due to the time, effort and expense to train new members and get them integrated into Jackson Hole Fire/EMS, we limit recruitment of new members based on organizational needs and attrition once a year. We accept applications as they come in and set up station interviews in January.
Jackson Hole Fire/EMS trades patches. The Moran Volunteer Firefighter's Association's provides us with T-Shirts for sale as a fundraiser for the Moran Fire Station volunteers. T-Shirts can be purchased at Jackson Hole Fire/EMS on 40 East Pearl Avenue for $15.
Donations can be made to individual associations or to the department as a whole. Any donation made to the organization will be used as requested by the donor. Donations can be made by check, e-check or credit card.
Applications may be picked up at the Jackson Hole Fire/EMS Administration Office or you may download the Membership Application (PDF). Due to the time, effort and expense to train new members and get them integrated into JH Fire/EMS, we limit recruitment of new members based on organizational needs and attrition once a year. We take applications as they come in and set up station interviews in January.
Jackson Hole Fire/EMS has stations in Jackson, Wilson, Hoback, Moran and on the Teton Village Road. In addition to Jackson Hole Fire/EMS there are also other local fire departments in Teton Village, Jackson Hole Airport and Grand Teton National Park.
Applications may be picked up at the Jackson Hole Fire/EMS Administration Office or you may download the Membership Application (PDF). Due to the time, effort and expense to train new members and get them intergrated into JH Fire/EMS, we limit recruitment of new members based on organizational needs and attrition once a year. We take applications as they come in and set up station interviews in January.
Being a volunteer member of Jackson Hole Fire/EMS can be time consuming. Not only are you asked to respond to emergency calls, but you must be trained to respond to those emergencies. For information view the Membership Policy (PDF).
No. Due to safety concerns and scheduling of transport trucks after hours use is not allowed.
Check the labels for toxicity. View the Household Hazardous Waste page for more details.
Teton County Integrated Solid Waste and Recycling (ISWR) charges businesses only what it costs to safely dispose of hazardous waste, and asks that residents pay as much as they can to help offset ISWR's disposal costs.
Please view the Household Hazardous Waste Fees page for more information.
The Household Hazardous Waste Facility does not accept latex or water-based paints. These paints can be thrown in the regular trash when dry and solid. An easy way to tell if the paint is water-based is if the directions specify soap and water clean-up.
Teton County Integrated Solid Waste and Recycling (ISWR) sells 50-pound bags of bentonite for $20. This is the best material to use when drying paint.
The pathway is closed from November 1 to April 30 to limit potential conflicts between pathway users and migrating elk in the fall, and to limit disturbance to elk and other wildlife by pathway users during the winter and early spring. Closing the pathway is the only way to ensure that the Elk Refuge's mission of "wildlife first" is respected and remains intact. If the pathway is deemed "incompatible" with the mission of the Elk Refuge, it would not be permitted on refuge property. The closure is part of the agreement between the Elk Refuge and Teton County for managing the pathway.
In the fall, starting as early as late October, elk migrate across the highway and search for the one-way openings in the Refuge fence. It is not uncommon to see individual elk or large herds searching back and forth along the fence. Experience has shown that even a vehicle parked along the highway is enough to cause elk to bolt, sometimes back across the highway. The presence of human pathway users during migration would likely cause elk to run back onto the highway and would place elk, pathway users, vehicles, and vehicle occupants at risk of a serious accident.
The impacts are slightly different in the winter and springtime for wildlife that have made it safely onto the refuge. By spring, elk and other wildlife on the refuge are struggling to conserve valuable energy and find feeding opportunities. While winter/spring wildlife are largely accustomed to vehicles on the highway, they are unaccustomed to people on foot or bicycle, and pathway use would cause animals to flee, further stressing their already depleted energy reserves. By the end of April the majority of animals have moved on and food sources are more plentiful. Studies to evaluate the impact of pathway use on wildlife are starting in fall 2011, which will help make future decisions on the management of the pathway.
The pathway is located on property owned by the U.S Fish and Wildlife Service (the National Elk Refuge), but the pathway itself is owned by Teton County.
The Elk Refuge and Teton County have adopted a Memorandum of Understanding that sets the rules for the pathway, enforcement of the rules, and the ongoing management and evaluation plan. The County is responsible for construction, maintenance, and management of the pathway. The Elk Refuge is responsible for managing the use of refuge lands, including what is allowable in terms of constructing and using the pathway.
Dogs (leashed or otherwise) are not permitted on the pathway at any time.
In the winter, when elk are on the refuge, dogs must be kept out of the area to prevent immediate and direct disturbance by dogs to elk.
In the summer, when there are no elk on the refuge, dogs must be kept out of the area because of disturbance to nesting waterfowl and other birds. Dogs can also leave scent markings that will cause elk and other wildlife to avoid certain areas long after the dog has moved on. When elk are migrating onto the refuge or looking for winter forage areas, it is critical that there are no disturbances that would cause them to shy away from the elk jumps or available forage areas.
Once the closure is in effect, there is no public use allowed on the pathway, even if there are no elk anywhere in the area. The concern is not just for elk already on the refuge, but also for migrating elk that are moving through the area.
Collisions between wildlife and vehicles are a serious problem in Teton County. When elk are moving across the highway in the fall, elk-vehicle collisions are a primary concern for the Elk Refuge, and the refuge makes significant efforts to reduce the amount of wildlife-vehicle collisions.
But, neither the Elk Refuge nor the County has the authority to manage use or operation of the highway. The Elk Refuge is only able to manage the use of refuge property and facilities, such as the pathway. Because pathway use could increase the potential of elk being hit by vehicles, the Elk Refuge is compelled to limit that risk as much as possible.
Violators of the closure or dog prohibition can be cited for criminal trespass under Wyoming state statutes and/or federal regulations.
Teton County has agreed to provide enforcement support to the Elk Refuge for pathway violations, and the Sheriff's office has the authority to cite violators for Criminal Trespass pursuant to Wyoming Statute 6-3-303.
The National Elk Refuge, under the authority of the U.S Fish and Wildlife Service, also has the authority to cite and prosecute violators under Federal law.
Studies are starting in the fall of 2011 to evaluate the possible impacts of the pathway on wildlife and the Elk Refuge's mission.
There are no guarantees that the closure or other regulations will be modified, but the County is working with the Elk Refuge to collect the necessary information to make decisions on pathway management. In the absence of data that allows the Elk Refuge to re-evaluate the need for the closure, the closure and dog restrictions will remain as they are. It is expected that 2-3 years minimum of data collection will be needed in order to make informed decisions.
In the fall, the pathway closure is in place to limit potential conflicts between pathway users and migrating elk. The studies will consist of data collection to determine when elk are moving through the pathway corridor area. Motion activated wildlife cameras are installed at each of the seven elk jumps between the Flat Creek Bridge and the Gros Ventre Bridge. The cameras record the date, time of day, types of animals, and approximate number of animals utilizing the elk jumps (or active in the general area). This will allow County Pathway and Elk Refuge officials to evaluate if the closure dates are appropriate or if the management strategy can be modified.
In the spring, the pathway closure is intended to prevent disturbance to foraging or wintering elk, and disturbance to nesting swans and other birds. The studies will consist of observations of elk locations, observations of nesting trumpeter swans, and observations of wildlife response to pathway use.
From the Biota Highway 89 Pathway Monitoring Study Proposal:
Dial 911 immediately.
The Land Development Regulations (LDR) are one of the tools to implement the Comprehensive Plan. The LDR contains more specific standards for how development can happen in specific areas, or zoning districts. These standards regulate more specifically how an individual lot can be developed including: allowable uses, building heights, fire safety, number of parking spaces, landscaping, signs, and other variables of site design.
The updated Comprehensive Plan serves as a sound basis for subsequently updating the LDRs and for addressing other non-regulatory strategies for implementation. As of summer 2017, Town and County Planning Departments have carried out a number of updates to the LDRs that reflect the vision of the Comprehensive Plan.
The Comprehensive Plan is an avenue for describing necessary updates to the LDR - regulatory strategies. It also can be the basis for addressing future programs, partnerships, funding mechanisms, and other such non-regulatory strategies.
The LDR is the set of regulations that govern development, zoning, and subdivision for the Town of Jackson and Teton County. They address zoning district regulations, natural, scenic resources, development standards, platting and land records and other development issues. They are not the same as the Comprehensive Plan, which is a policy document.
Each parcel in the county has the potential for some level of development, which is typically measured in residential dwelling units or commercial floor area, based on a zoning classification. The amount of development allowed on a parcel of land is commonly called a “development right”, and can be bought, sold, or transferred from a parcel.
A TDR Program separates the amount of development allowed on a parcel (typically measured in dwelling units) from the title of the property for the purpose of selling the development rights for use on another parcel. The development rights are removed from one property (known as the sending property) and used to increase the amount of development on another property (known as the receiving property). Such a transfer typically involves the relocation of development from an area undesirable for development (e.g., sensitive resource areas or agricultural lands) to an area suited for development (e.g., within a town).
Under a PDR Program, a landowner voluntarily sells his or her rights to develop a parcel of land to a public agency or a charitable organization, such as a land trust. Unlike a TDR program where rights are transferred (see above), a PDR program is intended to reduce the overall amount of development by “extinguishing” development rights. Land trusts in Teton County have been very active in securing conservation easements with private land owners through purchase of development rights.
A deed restriction is a legal document filed in the County’s official property records, placing restrictions on the use or sale of a property. A common deed restriction used in Teton County sets limitations on appreciation of affordable/workforce housing for the purpose of keeping the housing affordable in future sales.
Town-level density is that which would develop as town-like neighborhoods with paved streets, municipal water and sewer, and a full range of other public support services and infrastructure. The town has various levels of density that include single-family lots and multi-family units.
Charge accounts can be established for customers who frequently use the facility. View the application form and payment policy details, Transfer Station Payment Policies and Credit Card Application Form (PDF). Or contact Integrated Solid Wast and Recycling at 733-7678 (SORT).
The Transfer facility does accept Mastercard/Visa credit cards.
No access permits for the levee system are given by the Levee department. The County easement is only for repair and maintenance of the levees. If access is needed, a special permission must be given by the private landowner.
Yes. The Fire Prevention Bureau reviews all plans for commercial construction, remodel or development. The Bureau also reviews plans for fire sprinkler and alarm systems, hazardous processes, subdivision infrastructure, hazardous materials operations, urban-wildland interface and special events. The Departments’s Electrical Safety Division reviews plans for all electrical services and wiring within new construction and any residential over 400AMP.
No. We do not charge to review construction plans or electrical plans.
Yes. Electrical permits are issued by the Town and County Building Departments. The Fire Prevention Bureau and Electrical Division must sign off on all certificates of completion within the Town of Jackson. The Fire Prevention Bureau must sign all Certificates of Occupancy both in the Town and County. A building may not be occupied without a Certificate of Occupancy.
Yes. The Town of Jackson licenses contractors who work within the Town limits.
Yes - Section 49100 in the County LDRs outlines the various thresholds, consisting of existing slope and proposed area of all land disturbing activities, that effect the requirement for a Grading and Erosion Control Permit.
Perhaps - Section 49100 of the County LDRs outlines the level of submittal required to obtain a Grading and Erosion Control Permit. Dependent upon existing slope and area of land disturbing activities proposed, either a "statement" or "plan" level of submittal will be required. The "statement" level is the simpler submittal that does not have to be prepared by an engineer or landscape architect. The "plan" level of submittal is more comprehensive and must be prepared by a Wyoming licensed civil engineer or landscape architect.
Yes - The current policy is that no new systems can be installed during the winter season, which is defined as November 15 through Apr. 15. This is due to frozen ground conditions and installation complications. The exception to this seasonal restriction is the repair of existing systems in occupied structures. Some seasonal flexibility at the start and end to the restricted period is dependent an actual site specific ground conditions.
Yes - A small wastewater system permit can be processed using assumed "worst case" groundwater levels or percolation rates, based on the best available information. At any time prior to the installation of the system, the applicant may perform groundwater monitoring during the high GW period and/or perform percolation test, and provide this information to the department requesting a revised system design.
To figure out what zone your property is in, you can reference the County GIS Map here! And then follow the steps in the graphics below.
Once you have searched your address/parcel identification number and located the property, you can use the "layers" option to see what zone(s) your property lines within.
Shortcut Hint: "County Zoning" tells you the property zoning designation, and if you click on the property with that layer activated, a link to that specific section of the Land Development Regulations will become available in the top right-hand corner.
There are two ways to view the electronic versions of applications, permits, and documents. The first is to use the County GIS map to find the property in question (see above FAQ to learn how to do that) and then use the Planning & Building records link under the INFO tab. Each property will then have a comprehensive list of all permits that have come through our office. They are split into Permit Applications (from the Building Division) and Planning Applications (from the Planning Department). By clicking on the specific permit number that you are interested in, you can explore the permit details and any associated documents that have been scanned. For recently submitted permits you can even view the current review status, inspection results, and fees.
The second option is to use our Development Records Web Portal to search for specific permits. You can also use this resource to search by property address. If there are no scanned documents available there may be paper copies available for viewing in the Planning & Building Office.
Beginning in 2009, the Building Department began tracking certain types of permits commonly issued in conjunction with a Building Permit as sub-permits of that Building Permit number. Common sub-permits include Grading and Erosion Control, Septic, Plumbing, and Mechanical Permits. If a permit is categorized as a sub-permit, you will not see it listed individually here under its own permit number. Instead, you will want to click on the Building Permit reference number so you can review the sub-permits on the Permit Application Status page. This will only apply if the Building Permit was issued in 2009 or more recently. Prior to 2009, all permits were cataloged individually and will appear in the Permit Applications list.
We are in the process of scanning permit records. Once scanned, paper copies of permits are only available for viewing if they are from the last five years. Building architectural plans are not publicly available online and paper copies are not available for viewing once a residential project has been completed. Building architectural plans are copyrighted by the architect and therefore we cannot make copies for the public.
All the Planning Permit applications can be found under the Planning Applications & Checklists web page available under the Planning Division page.
The most common planning applications have been combined into one "Planning Permit Application." Start by exploring our list of Checklists. If your desired application is listed as a checklist, that means you will need to complete the "Planning Permit Application" and then reference the relevant checklist for any specific submittal requirements for your permit application. The Checklists also include relevant pre-submittal requirements that may be specific to the type of permit.
Applications that will not use the "Planning Permit Application" have their own full application and include Pre-Application Conference Requests, Environmental Analysis, Exempt Land Divisions, and Sign Permits. In addition, there is a Miscellaneous Planning Request (MSC) Application that can be used for Special Purpose Fencing Exemption Requests, Fee Waiver Requests, Monitoring Reports, EA Exemption Requests, and Planner Research Requests.
If you have difficulty determining what application to use, please contact the Planning Department.
Fences do not require permits if they meet all the requirements for Wildlife Friendly Fencing as detailed in LDR Sec. 5.1.2. If the proposed fencing deviates from these regulations, a Special Purpose Fencing application must be submitted to the Planning Department. This application can be found on our Planning Applications & Checklists web page under Miscellaneous Planning Request (MSC) Application.
In short, any new fencing can be no higher than 38 inches above the ground and the spacing between the top two wires or top pole/rail and adjacent wire shall be at least 12 inches. The minimum clearance from the ground shall be 16 inches. Buck and rail fencing shall be avoided. When replacing or repairing old fencing or if the fencing is agriculture related, please call our office for the specifics and/or exemptions.
Grading and erosion control permits can be required with a building permit, or just on their own for projects that are altering natural landscapes and grade. The chart below outlines the thresholds for permit requirements based upon the area of disturbance and the steepness of slopes within that area. There are two levels of grading permits, statement level and plan level. Prior to submitting a plan level grading permit (or a building permit associated with that project), a pre-application conference is required to be held with County staff. Requirements for application submittals can be found on the permit application form.
The pre-application request can be found here: Pre-Application Conference Request
The grading permit application can be found here: Grading and Erosion Control Application
Grading standards can be found here: Land Development Regulation Division 5.7.2
If you have questions about grading standards you can also contact the Teton County Engineering Services at (307)733-3317
Site development is the area of a property that is physically developed. It is typically the inverse of landscape surface area. Site development includes the area of the site is that covered by buildings, structures, impervious surfaces, porches, decks, terraces, patios, driveways, walkways, parking areas, and regularly disturbed areas such as corrals, outdoor storage and stockpiles. Even if a parking area or driveway is not paved, it will likely still count as site development. Site development does not include the cultivation of soil for agricultural use.
The definition of site development can be found in Division 9.5 of the Land Development Regulations.
Site development limitations on specific properties are based on zone and size of the lot. Reference the division of the LDRs for the applicable zone for the site development allowance formula.
An EA exemption does not always mean exemption from the standards of the Natural Resource Overlay (NRO). All physical development, use, development option and subdivision within the NRO shall comply with all standards of Section 5.2.1 unless the proposal meets one of the following exemptions;
You can reference the GIS Map Server to find out if a property is in the NRO and what the current or previous zoning was.
Click here to explore LDR Sec. 8.2.2 regarding the Environmental Analysis standards and procedure, and here to find the application. A pre-application conference is required prior to submitting an EA application.
Manmade ponds can be built in accordance with Section 5.1.6 of the LDRs.
On residential properties there are two types of permitted water features, habitat ponds and ornamental water features.
Habitat Ponds are larger features that shall be setback 50 feet from any structures. They must be designed or reviewed by an environmental professional to ensure they are meeting the habitat standards of the LDRs. A buffer of natural vegetation is required around the pond. Even if a residential development is exempt from the Natural Resource Overlay Standards, a habitat pond may still require an Environmental Analysis. Check with a planner prior to submitting a Grading and Erosion Control permit for a new habitat pond.
Ornamental water features are smaller (less than 1,000 sf of area) and are allowed within 50 feet of structures. They are intended to be more architectural in style and can only be 2 feet deep. They are not allowed to connect to any natural waterway or irrigation ditch.
For more details, reference the Man Made Features section of the regulations by clicking here.
Single family residential development will require the payment of affordable housing fees upon issuance of the building permit unless it meets either of the following exemptions; the proposed habitable floor area (including basement space) is less than 2,500 sf, or the development has already met an affordable housing requirement in full. This second exemption only applies to certain subdivisions or Planned Unit Developments in the County. If your property is not within a subdivision, it is safe to assume affordable housing requirements will apply to your project. The fee is calculated using a formula that matches the proposed habitable floor area with a proportional number of affordable housing units. Since this number is usually less than 1 unit, the requirement is a fee-in-lieu. This fee is based on several factors including the price of construction, housing costs, income, and average rental rates in Teton County. Affordable housing fees can also apply to additions and even remodels if space is being converted into habitable floor area. If you are demolishing an existing house and rebuilding, there may be some credit that is applied to your fee for the new house.
Non-residential affordable housing requirements are different. Most new commercial development will require either the dedication of deed-restricted housing for Teton County workforce, or the payment of a fee-in-lieu. Some non-residential uses like education, day cares, agriculture, historical buildings, public facilities, and temporary uses have no affordable housing requirement. For other non-residential uses the requirement is based on the square footage of the building being used.
You can use the affordable housing fee calculator in order to figure out what fees or requirements might be associated with your project. It will download as an Excel spreadsheet. Download Calculator Here. Make sure to start off by identifying your location as Teton County. There is also a separate location option for Alta since the fees for residential development are 25% of what they are for the rest of unincorporated Teton County. For typical single-family residential development, you will want to use "Detached Single-Family Unit (unrestricted)" when choosing a proposed use. The Use Quantity column needs to be completed for accurate results, and is typically a quantity of 1 for most projects.
If you’re unsure what your use is classified as, you can reference LDR Section 6.1.2 Classification of Uses.
For more on our affordable housing regulations, you can reference LDR Division 6.4 Affordable Workforce Housing Standards.
All utilities must be installed underground per LDR Section 7.7.5.
The only exemption to that standard is that an existing above-ground fuel tank may be replaced above ground ONLY if the property in question is outside of the Wildland Urban Interface (WUI). To determine if your property is within the WUI, you can reference the Teton County GIS Map server, which includes the Wildland Urban Interface layer under "Planning & Building Layers. Check with the Fire Department at (307)733-4732 as they may have additional requirements.
The natural, wildlife and scenic resources found in Teton County are essential components of our community and they establish the character of our community. One way of protecting our resources is to keep setbacks from our waterbodies free from development. The required setbacks for development are:
These buffers are required to remain fee from all development, which includes any and all;
Buffers shall also remain native vegetation and should not be cleared, mowed, or replanted with non-native plant species or lawns.
For more details, you can reference LDR Section 5.1.1. Waterbody and Wetland Buffers.
Building setbacks and height restrictions are based on the zoning of the property in question, and sometimes the use.
Some platted subdivisions also have building envelopes or setbacks on the plat. So start by checking the subdivision plat first for any setbacks notes or envelope depictions. If a property is in a subdivision, the plat map can be found under the info tab on the County GIS map.
If there aren’t subdivision specific setbacks, or the property is unplatted, then the zone specific setbacks apply. The same applies to building heights. You can use the County GIS to check what zone your property is in. Visit our General Navigation FAQs if you need assistance.
There is no limit to the number of physical structures in any of the zones in the Land Development Regulations. There are however, overall floor area limitations that must be met. In addition, for Detached Single-Family Residential Development there is a limit to the number of dwelling units. For most properties, only two structures may have the features of a residential unit; bedrooms, full bathrooms (with tub/shower), and a kitchen. A kitchen is defined as having an oven/stove top appliance. Typically, none of these features are allowed without all three. For Detached Single-Family Residential Uses these features may only exist within a single-family dwelling or an accessory residential unit.
Definition of Residential Uses: LDR Section 6.1.4
Definition of a Kitchen: LDR Section 9.5
Short-term rentals, meaning properties rented for periods less than 31 days at a time, are prohibited in Teton County unless the property is in the following locations;
All other residential properties in Teton County may be rented on a long-term basis, meaning the rental period is at least 31 days. Short-term rental regulations can be found in Section 6.1.5. of the LDRs.
Accessory Residential Units on residential properties (i.e guest houses) per Section 6.1.11.B, may only be rented per the following standards;
If homeowners have a listing on such websites as Vacation Rental By Owner, HomeAway, Airbnb, or a local property management company, all listings must comply with the LDRs and not advertise for rental of less than 31 days unless specifically allowed by the LDRs.
To report a short-term rental violation you can contact the Code Compliance Officer at (307)733-3959. Should Planning staff find future reservations that do not comply with the LDRs, this matter will be forwarded to the County Attorney as a violation of the Teton County Land Development Regulations. Wyoming Statutes authorize the County to seek abatement of these violations, authorize a fine of not more than $750 for each offense, and provide that each day’s continuation of a violation is a separate offense.
There are two zones of bear priority danger in Teton County. While it is recommended that everyone have bear-proof containers, refuse and recycle containers and dumpsters are only required to be bear resistant in areas designated as Conflict Area 1. To find out if your property is within this designated area, go to the geographic information system (GIS) and click Bear Conflict Priority Areas under the Planning and Building Layers.
Areas within the Town of Jackson, Melody Ranches or Rafter J subdivision are not required to have bear resistant containers.
Keep in mind that bear proof trash containers are required on active construction sites, regardless of location in the County, for disposing of food waste.
Related Land Development Regulations: Section 5.2.2 Bear Conflict Area Standards (PDF)
For more information on bear-proof trash containers or to identify a potential violation, proceed to the Code Compliance web page.
Many residents operate businesses from their homes as a way to give small local businesses a place to start. These do require the proper permits to be approved before any commercial activity can take place.
There are two categories of Accessory Commercial Uses:
Home Occupations are operated by the homeowner or resident and the area used is restricted to 25% or less of the living space. No one residing off-site may be employed by a home occupation business. Examples are professional services like accountants, real estate agents, artists, music studio, tailors, tutors or counselors. This use requires a Basic Use Permit (PDF) and is handled administratively by the Planning Staff. Please check with your HOA first as some subdivisions do not allow home occupations or businesses.
Home Businesses are the next step up where the homeowner has 1 to 3 employees and the space dedicated to the business is 25% or less of the living space and part or all of the outbuildings. Examples are contracting businesses, offices, music, art or other schools, art studios or galleries. In most residential areas, a Conditional Use Permit (PDF) is required, which includes public hearings before the Planning Commission and Board of County Commissioners.
Both of these permit types use the Planning Permit Application in addition to the requirements outlined in the checklists.
Land Development Regulations Section 6.1.11 Accessory Uses (PDF)
Allowed uses on a property are dictated by the zone. Some uses have zone specific standards, which means that certain regulations, such as minimum site area, may dictate further if a use is allowed. Non-residential Commercial uses typically require use permits from the Planning Division. There are two types of use permits, a Basic Use and a Conditional Use Permit.
Start by confirming what category the proposed use falls under by referencing LDR Sec. 6.1.2 Classification of Uses. Once you have figured that out, you can reference the Use Schedule in Sec. 6.1.1
The table will indicate if a use is allowed in a zone by right (i.e. no use permits are required) with a "Y", allowed with a Basic Use Permit with a "B", allowed with a Conditional Use Permit with a "C". If the section is blank, that means that use is prohibited within that specific zone. There is not a relief process in the LDRs which would allow a use in a zone where it is not permitted by the Use Schedule. Again, use-specific as well as zone-specific standards may involve additional requirements or restrictions. Those are typically listed at the end of the zone article in the LDRs, or in the use standards in Article 6.
Basic Use Permit application checklist can be viewed here.
Conditional Use Permit application checklist can be viewed here.
Both applications use the general Planning Permit Application.
The Teton County Land Development Regulations prohibit using a camping trailer or RV as residential living quarter, with the exception of a temporary use of a trailer in conjunction with an active building permit for a residential structure.
When using camper trailers you must be parked in an authorized campground. This does not prohibit the parking of your camping trailer on your property when not in use, as long as Section 6.4.1. Outside Storage standards are met.
A zoning compliance verification (ZCV) is a Planning permit to ensure compliance with County regulations. It can be required by staff for review of natural resources/setbacks on a property where an environmental analysis is not required, or for review of visual resources within the Scenic Resource Overlay. It can also be used voluntarily to have a planner to research a property and answer specific questions, or to confirm the status of a non-conformity on a property.
A ZCV is also a required step prior to submitting an application for a Boundary Adjustment. This allows planners to look into the proposed changes and ensure the new lot configurations are in compliance with the LDRs.
There are different checklists for each of these purposes available to reference when preparing a ZCV application.
The checklists and the Planning Permit Application can be found here.
Once a ZCV application is submitted, a planner has two weeks to check the application for sufficiency (i.e. includes all the required submittal materials outlined on the checklist) and then will provide a review within 45 days of determining the application sufficient.
Values are most often determined by comparing your property with properties that are similar in location, design, size, age and amenities. The market value is derived using the sales of similar property from the prior year.
Wyoming is a non-disclosure state; sale prices of property are not published as public information. Wyoming Statute 34-1-142 requires a statement of consideration be completed whenever a deed, contract or other document transferring legal title is recorded. Information such as the date of sale, purchase price, terms of sale, etc. are required. The sale information on the statement of consideration is used by the Assessor`s office in determining annual fair market value.
Real property is valued at "Market Value" not construction cost. Market Value is the most probable price expressed in terms of money that a property would bring if exposed for sale in the open market in an arm`s length transaction between a willing seller and a willing buyer. In other words, if you were to list your property for sale on the open market, what would be your asking price in our real estate market?
The rating for the Town of Jackson is an ISO 3. All areas within 5 road miles of the Jackson Station, the Wilson Station, the Admas Canyon Station and the Teton Pines station are an ISO 4. All other areas of the County are an ISO 10.
Call the Fire Prevention Bureau at 733-4732. We utilize the Juvenile Firesetter Program to identify fire play behavior and determine appropriate intervention strategies. The program is a partnership between the Fire Department and parents to change fire play behaviors.
Yes. The department is an Advanced Life Support transport agency.
No. Please contact the American Red Cross at 733-4049.
The Jackson Community Recycling Center operates the Household Hazardous Waste Facility. Contact the Recycling Center at 733-7678 for information.
The following phone numbers may be needed in the case of various health emergencies:
You can call Sandy Birdyshaw 307-733-8094 in the Administrative Office for a Workshop Request. Workshops with the Commissioners are normally on Mondays. Workshop requests are approved by the Chairman, who determines what items are appropriate for discussion in a workshop setting and what items may be appropriate for a regular public meeting agenda.
The regular public meeting begins at 9 a.m., with no predictable times set for any matters. We therefore cannot estimate the time an item will be considered, so it is advisable to arrive at the 9 a.m.
The Public Address System gives each resident the public address of their home. The location number is assigned by the Planning Department. If a sign is desired on your road or driveway, you can place an order through the Road Department, which will also install the sign. However, if you do not directly access a Teton County road, it is your responsibility to maintain the placement of your sign.
Compostable/biodegradable plastics and paper products cannot be recycled, even if they indicate Number 1. Biodegradable/compostable plastics are often made with corn starch or vegetable oil and they cannot be recycled because the starch or oil additive compromises the qualities of recycled plastics, these types of plastics are considered a contaminant. Compostable plastics and paper goods are able to be composted in industrial scale composting plants (often found in larger cities). Teton County does not yet have the capabilities for this type of industrial composting. It is best to reduce and reuse the need for these materials at this time.
Plastic clamshell containers, like the one pictured here that often contain salad or berries, are not recyclable - even though they display the Number 1 and chasing arrows symbol. These containers are derived from Number 1 plastic resin, but during the process in which they are molded, they become brittle and less valuable.
These containers are considered a contaminant and are removed manually by staff members on the Recycling Center floor. Please throw these items into the trash, but continue to recycle Number 1 and Number 2 clean plastic bottles and jars.
View the following documents for more information:
Paperboard, such as cereal and cracker boxes and egg cartons are not accepted in the cardboard recycling bins. Paperboard is made up of short fibers and is a low value material that is nearing the end of its life-cycle. Please do not place these materials into the recycling. Recycling Center staff remove them by hand.
Corrugated cardboard (PDF), however, is a highly recyclable, valuable material. Please flatten all boxes prior to placing them in the recycling bins.
If the plastic stretches, it can be recycled at the recycling center with plastic grocery bags. View the Plastic Bags and Stretchy Plastic (PDF) for more details.
Please empty containers prior to recycling and rinse if any food residue remains. When dirty plastics come to the recycling center our staff has to pick out the dirty containers, and throw these contaminated items away. This is especially true with plastics, as contaminated loads are less valuable, and can even be rejected by buyers. With food containers such as plastic peanut butter jars and steel cans try using a spatula to get most of the gunk out. The containers don’t need to be perfect, just relatively clean.
Teton County Integrated Solid Waste and Recycling (ISWR) is very adamant about properly disposing of electronics. ISWR sends electronics to a company that is reputable and trusted (see more info below). However, if disposers have any hesitations they are encouraged to have their hard drive cleared.
Electronics are sent to Denver to a company called Electronic Recyclers International (ERI). ERI is the largest electronics recycler in North America. ERI has the highest capacity and most technologically advanced e-waste shredding system in the world, providing its customers with a maximum economic benefit and maximum commodity return. 100% of all material sent to ERI is recycled into three main commodities: metals, plastics and glass.
ERI is a member of the Basel Action Network (BAN) - an international organization that monitors the international trade of electronic wastes. ERI has signed the BAN pledge which states, “We will not engage in the exporting or dumping of e-waste, or in the use of prison labor in our recycling processes.”
This company is also E-Stewards Certified (a certification which verifies that the electronics are recycled properly).
The best option for used clothing is donation to local thrift stores and other outreach organizations. When these local options are unavailable, please utilize the bin labeled "textiles" at the Recycling Center. These materials are transported to Big Brothers and Sisters in Salt Lake City where they are distributed to thrift shops for resale.
Integrated Solid Waste and Recycling (ISWR) is currently in search of a program that will accept textiles that are used beyond the point of resale. In the meantime, it is best to contact local animal shelters about donation or to reuse your worn textiles as household rags.
Electronics such as televisions, computers, and cell phones can be delivered to the Recycling Center during business hours, Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., where they are recycled at a cost of $0.40 per pound. Businesses are asked to pay in full. Residents are asked to pay what they can afford toward the cost of disposal.
Teton County diverts approximately 34% of solid waste from the landfill through recycling, composting and reuse. The Teton County Zero Waste Resolution calls for 60% diversion by 2030. Thank you for recycling and keep up the good work!
Jackson Community Recycling (JCR) is a program of Teton County, (which is why often one will hear JCR referred to as Teton County Integrated Solid Waste and Recycling). However, JCR is an Enterprise Fund which means it is self-funded. JCR does not receive or contribute to the general fund. We can accept donations and those donations are tax-deductible. The donations that we receive go straight to recycling programs. We are not considered a non-profit and we do not have a 501c3 number.
Complete the Jackson Hole Community Recycling Membership Form to make a donation.
The symbol on a plastic product identifies the type of plastic (resin) used to make the item; which also indicates the different melting points and characteristics. The casing arrow can be very deceptive because it does not indicate whether or not an item can actually be recycled.
From Teton County, it costs over $100 per ton to landfill waste and an average of $15 per ton to recycle.
Please contact the Recycling Center 307-733-7678 for additional information on recycling fees for certain materials.
Recycling markets for number 3 through 7 plastics are difficult to find and rarely profitable. Many of these materials were sold to markets overseas until a recent shift in regulations, called Operation Green Fence, was enacted in China in response to high contamination. The value of these markets fluctuates with oil prices as well. When oil prices are low, manufacturing from recycled plastics is no less expensive than from new material. Many communities accept number 3 through 7 plastics in their recycling streams as a convenience to customers, but, when markets are scarce, the materials are often separated and sent to a landfill.
Combining recyclables into a single bin, also known as co-mingled or single stream recycling, requires additional labor and equipment to process and results in higher contamination of materials. Limiting contamination maximizes the revenue obtained from the sale of recyclables and ensures that a greater percentage of the material we collect is able to be recycled rather than land filled.
Materials that are capable of being recycled don’t vary from place to place, what varies is the recycling program and the proximity to the markets.
There are many different ways to go about collecting recyclables. Many large municipalities have Material Recovery Facilities (MRFs) - the machines at these facilities automatically sort the materials where they are then bailed and then sold. See single stream recycling. This type of machinery is very expensive and requires processing a good deal of recyclables in order to be economically feasible. At this point, in Teton County there are not enough recyclables produced for this type of machinery to be justified. We bale each item one commodity at a time. Our labor costs are significantly reduced by having residents sort the materials.
There are facilities that process commodities all over the world. Teton County is very geographically isolated. Often times it is not environmentally or financially responsible to send small quantities or low value items to the various markets.
Recycle clean, residue free, pizza boxes only.
Teton Pass (Highway 22) and Snake River/Hoback Canyon roads (Highway 191 or Highway 89/26) are maintained by the Wyoming Highway Department. Call 307-733-3126, or visit their website for up-to-date road information. Road and Travel Information is also available by calling 888-996-7623, or by listening to local radio stations.
Teton County Road Department contracts individual companies to do snow removal on Teton County Roads only, if you have a questions regarding snow removal on a particular county road, you should contact the independent contractor.
There are gauges located at various sites along the Teton range to measure snow precipitation and water content. For daily reports, go to the Snow Precipitation Update website maintained by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.
For a daily update of the Snake River flows go to the USGS Wyoming Current Streamflow Conditions website or call 1-800-658-5771.
If you live beside a creek or river and are in need of sandbags for flood protection, you must obtain sandbags from the local Emergency Coordinator by calling 307-733-9572.
Compete the online form which will the required paperwork. The septic engineer will then review the documentation and approve or deny with or without restrictions. Once the permit has been approved, you or your designated agent will be contacted for pickup.
Perhaps, when adequate local soils information is available within department files, profile holes and percolation tests may not be required. If adequate information is not available or a site visit indicates unusual conditions, a profile hole and/or percolation tests may be required.
Each application will be evaluated on a case by case basis. Profile holes will be required in nearly all cases to verify soil conditions.
Yes. The current policy is that no new systems can be installed during the winter season, which is defined as November 15 through April 15. This is due to frozen ground conditions and installation complications.
The exception to this seasonal restriction is the repair of existing systems in occupied structures. Some seasonal flexibility at the start and end to the restricted period is dependent an actual site specific ground conditions.
Yes. A small wastewater system permit can be processed using assumed "worst case" groundwater levels or percolation rates, based on the best available information. At any time prior to the installation of the system, the applicant may perform groundwater monitoring during the high ground water period and/or perform percolation test, and provide this information to the department requesting a revised system design.
No. Precast concrete two-compartment septic tanks are required. In certain cases where access is an issue exceptions may be permitted.
Small Claims Court is for money debts, personal injury or property damages up to $6,000. That is the maximum amount you can receive in Small Claims Court. If your Claim is for more than the limit, you must choose either to reduce your Claim or give up your right to recover the excess, or to sue in another Court.
If you file your claim by mail, please note that the Plaintiff`s signature on the Affidavit must be signed before a Notary Public. Small Claims suits require two separate checks or money orders, one payable to Teton County Circuit Court for the $10 filing fee, and one payable to Teton County Sheriff's Office for the service fee ($50 per summons). Do not send one check to cover both fees, it will be returned to you and your case will be delayed until proper (separate) payment is received.
While you can file your claim by mail, you must appear in Court to prosecute your claim. You may contact the Court to learn an available Court date, and the dates between which your claim must be received in order to accommodate your appearance on the date you choose. If you are filing your claim from outside Teton County, in order to avoid a trip to Jackson if your Defendant has not been served, please be aware of the following.
You must call the court prior to your court date to see if the Defendant was served. If the Defendant has not been served, you would want to know that prior to coming to Jackson. You can request an Alias Summons be issued with a new court date, you will also need to send another $50 service fee. If you have any questions about the Small Claims Affidavit or Summons, please read the instructions. If you still have questions, call the Court`s Office before completing the forms. If they are incorrectly filled out, they will be returned to you for correction, which may delay your Court date.
The fee for filing a Small Claims action is $10, payable to the Circuit Court in the form of exact change, personal or business check, or money order. In addition, and separately, the Teton County Sheriff’s Office charges $50, payable in advance in the form of exact change, check or money order, for service of each summons in a Small Claims action. (If you are suing two people in the same case, you will pay $50 each to the Sheriff’s Office for service.)
This initial fee for the Sheriff covers the first three attempts at service, regardless of where in the County the Defendant is to be served. If a case cannot be served in three attempts, a fee of $50 shall be charged for each Alias Summons issued thereafter. Any other subsequent paperwork requiring service by the Sheriff will cost $50 to serve.
If you are filing a Small Claims suit, you are the Plaintiff, and the person sued is the Defendant. In order to start an action, you must file a Small Claims Affidavit, a copy of which is available from the Court. The Small Claims Affidavit and Summons are relatively self-explanatory and can be easily filled in if you read the form. Please type if possible; if you cannot have it typed, you may print in black ink. You must fill in both the Affidavit and the Summons. On the Summons, fill in everything except the dates; the Clerk will complete this portion. Please note that the Affidavit is a sworn statement, and should be signed in person at the Court’s office. If you wish to file by mail, or have someone else bring in your papers, your signature must be notarized (that is, you must sign it before a Notary Public). We cannot accept pre-signed Affidavits.
The Teton County Circuit Court requires that you supply a mailing address for both Plaintiff and Defendant. This information should be filled in at the top of both the Affidavit and the Summons, on the double lines. You must also supply an exact physical address or location – residence or employment (In Teton County or both – where the Defendant(s) can be served with the papers by the Sheriff. Telephone numbers are also required, preferably daytime phone numbers where the parties can be reached during normal from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. If you are filing a single case against two or more Defendants (such as husband and wife), you may want to consider issuing a separate Summons for each Defendant, and paying $50 for each to the Sheriff’s Office for service.
If the service information supplied to the Sheriff is insufficient for service to be accomplished, the Sheriff will return the summons as unserved but will keep the fee. A subsequent summons on the same case, if authorized by the Court, will require another service fee. For this reason, it is essential that you supply sufficient details for service to be accomplished. When you file your Small Claims suit, a hearing date will be set for your trial. Wyoming Court Rules require that service must be made by the Sheriff in no less than three days and not more than twelve days from the date set for the hearing. Therefore, there is a short nine-day window during which service must be made; if it cannot be made, the Summons will be returned by the Sheriff as unserved.
When you file your Small Claims suit, the Clerk will set a hearing date for your case. This is when you and the Defendant will argue your case in Court before the Judge. Small Claims Court is held on Tuesday mornings in the Circuit Courtroom of the Teton County Courthouse, located at the corner of King and Simpson Streets in Jackson.
The Clerk will give or mail you a copy of your Affidavit and a copy of the Summons, and will see that the appropriate papers are delivered to the Sheriff’s Office with your service fee. The Sheriff will make every attempt to serve the copy of the Affidavit and Summons on your Defendant within the nine-day period required. If the Defendant(s) are not served during this time period, an Alias Summons can be issued with a different Court date. You will be required to provide a $50 service fee for each attempt at service of the Defendant(s). It is for this reason that you must be sure of the accuracy of the service address you supply.
The Sheriff’s Office will serve the copy of the Affidavit and Summons on the Defendant and will return the original Summons to the Court. You will need to call the Court to check on the status of service. If the papers have not been served on or by the Friday before your scheduled Court date, an Alias Summons can be issued with a later Court date and this will give the Sheriff’s Office another chance to serve the papers.
The most important thing to do in getting ready for your Court appearance is to know the exact date and time of your trial (hearing) and to be there on time.
You should get together any papers, documents, bills, receipts or pictures that might have something to do with the case, and you should bring them with you when you appear for your trial. You must bring 3 copies of all material you wish to submit to the Judge as evidence (one copy, preferably the original, for the Judge; one copy for yourself; and one copy for your opposing party). You may also bring witness; people who can help explain why you are entitled to the money you are suing for. Make sure your witnesses know the exact date and time for the trial, and then make sure they show up!
If you need to have a witness subpoenaed, in the event that he or she will not appear voluntarily, ask the Clerk for a subpoena. This must be done no less than 5 days before your trial date. You will need an exact physical address for the witness, and the Sheriff’s Office will charge you $50 to serve each subpoena.
If the Plaintiff does not appear for the trial on the scheduled Court date, the case will be dismissed. If the Defendant does not appear, the Plaintiff will be sworn to testify about the matter. In most instances the failure of the Defendant to appear will result in a Default Judgment, which means that the Plaintiff has won the case for the amount claimed in the Affidavit (up to the maximum jurisdiction of the Court, plus Court costs), and the money must be paid by the Defendant. Cost comprise the $10 filing fee, the $50 service fee, and any other service fees to the Sheriff which have been paid in advance by the Plaintiff.
There are no juries at a Small Claims hearing; it is just a simple, informal hearing before the Judge. At the hearing, the Plaintiff will first tell his or her story to the Judge. If you have papers, documents, photos or witnesses to help explain your case, use them (remember that you must have three copies of anything you want to submit to the Judge as evidence). The Plaintiff has the burden of proof, so it is important that you explain to the Judge at the hearing why every penny and every item of the claim is due to you. When the Plaintiff has finished, the Defendant then gets a chance to tell his or her version to the Judge; the Defendant may also use papers, documents, or photos (three copies required) or witnesses.
Both parties should be clear and concise; it is wise to have your arguments well thought out in advance. Do not be afraid to talk to the Judge; he is there to be fair to you. After hearing both side and seeing their evidence, the Judge may make an immediate decision as to who is right and who is wrong, and who owes whom money. If he announces his decision, the Clerk will also give you (or arrange to mail to you) a copy of the Judgment. If the Judge does not make an immediate decision, he will take the matter under advisement and you will be notified later, by mail, of the decision. In this instance, it is necessary that the Court have the correct mailing addresses for both parties.
Much research is being done to evaluate the merits of Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) versus diesel or diesel hybrid buses. The evaluation compared emissions, functionality in our geographic location, purchase and operational costs, and availability of buses. The evaluation in fall 2008 determined that diesel or diesel hybrid buses would better serve our public transit system.
The market value of a property is multiplied by the assessment percentage (9.5%) resulting in the assessed value. The assessed value is then multiplied by the mill levy to generate property tax dollars.
A mill is a $1 revenue for each $1,000 of assessed valuation.
Market Value times 9.5% (assessment Percentage) equals the Assessed Value multiplied by Mill Levy which equals Tax Dollars
The Teton County Commissioners set the mill levy based on budget requests from various taxing districts such as school districts, counties, water or sewer districts, improvement and service districts, and hospitals. These various tax districts provide services to you and they are listed on your tax notice.
You can only protest your property`s actual value. Objections to the amount of taxes have to be taken to the taxing districts.
To see where your tax dollars go, refer to the financial statements on the Board of County Commissioners page.
Teton County trash is sent 100 miles one-way to a landfill in Idaho.
Yes, you can renew your Wyoming registration in any county. All you need is your last Wyoming registration and proof of current insurance.
Yes, in Wyoming all license plates are sold to you, not to your vehicle. If you plan to replace your vehicle or trailer, you can transfer the plates and any remaining credit to the new vehicle or trailer.
All trailers must be licensed.
All water is owned by the State of Wyoming.
Not necessarily. All water belongs to the State of Wyoming, but water rights also go along with the land. You can call the State of Wyoming Surface Water Division for specific information about your property. You will need the physical description of your property, by way of: Section, Township, Range.
Yes. If you use any water, you must get a permit from the State Engineer`s Office in Cheyenne. All applications for surface water (irrigation and reservoir, etc.) and/or ground water (wells/springs) can be obtained through the State Engineers` Office in Cheyenne, WY by calling 307-777-7354 or by mailing a request to the State Engineers` Office at:
4th Floor, East
Cheyenne, WY 82002