About Lodging Tax

Background & Purpose

About: The Jackson Hole Travel and Tourism Joint Powers Board (JHTTB) is dedicated to developing a healthy economy that preserves Jackson Hole’s natural capital, provides a quality visitor experience, and enhances the wellbeing of the community. The JHTTB is a seven-member volunteer board appointed by elected officials from the Town of Jackson and Teton County. 

In the State of Wyoming, a 5% lodging tax is collected on every visitor’s hotel, motel, and rental property stays; 3% is managed by the Wyoming Office of Tourism, and 2% stays in Teton County. 60% of these local funds are managed by the JHTTB for destination marketing, tourist education, events, and other tourism-related initiatives as outlined in the Wyoming State Statutes. The balance (40%) is managed by the Town of Jackson and Teton County, primarily to mitigate the impacts of tourism on infrastructure and services.